Algiers Announce New Album and Tour, Share New Song “Dispossession” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Thursday, October 29th, 2020  

Algiers Announce New Album and Tour, Share New Song “Dispossession”

There Is No Year Due Out January 17, 2020 via Matador

Oct 29, 2019 Photography by Christian Högstedt
Bookmark and Share


Algiers have announced a new album, There Is No Year, and shared its first single, "Dispossession," via a video for the track. They have also announced some tour dates. There Is No Year is due out January 17, 2020 via Matador. Check out the "Dispossession" video below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art, as well as the tour dates.

Algiers' last album was 2017's The Underside of Power. In August they shared a new song, "Can The Sub_Bass Speak?" That song was one of our Songs of the Week, but isn't included on the new album.

Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth) and Ben Greenberg (Zs, Uniform) produced the album, which was recorded in New York. The band features childhood friends and Atlanta natives Franklin James Fisher, Ryan Mahan, and Lee Tesche, as well as drummer Matt Tong (formerly of Bloc Party).

A press release describes the album this way: "There Is No Year encompasses future-minded post-punk R&B from the trapped heart of ATL, where they began; to industrial soundscapes à la 4AD-era Scott Walker or Iggy and Bowie's Berlin period; to something like the synthetic son of Marvin Gaye and Fever Ray."

The band's multi-instrumentalist Ryan Mahan had this to say about "Dispossession" in the press release: "The specter of dispossession is haunting us all. Everywhere the imperial world represses the ghoulish histories that sustain our pasts, presents and futures. Franklin's lyrics throughout 'Dispossession' and on our new record, There is No Year, like a neo-Southern Gothic novel with an anti-oppression undercurrent, testify to this modern horror, and chronicle the various ways we all-through living and longing-endure and resist its persistent attacks." 

Sohail Daulatzai directed the "Dispossession" video, which was filmed in the Noisy le Grand commune in the eastern Suburbs of Paris. 

Daulatzai had this to say about the video in a press release: "Amidst the urgency of now, 'Dispossession' sounds the warning about the permanent war against oblivion. The video opens with the sites of colonial massacres of Algerians, moves to the repressive spaces of the banlieues, and includes shots of the Jardin d'Agronomie Tropicale-a park that celebrates the glories of empire. But this is not just about the past or Paris, it is everywhere that the banner of the West is waved, where monuments to our ruin are raised-reminders of the ongoing violence, of the tensions between dream and its discontents, past and present, them and us. I wanted to give visual resonance to these tensions, to our dignified stances amidst the madness, and to our memories of a future foretold."

Read our 2017 interview with Algiers on The Underside of Power.

There Is No Year Tracklist:

1. There Is No Year
2. Dispossession
3. Hour of the Furnaces
4. Losing is Ours
5. Unoccupied
6. Chaka
7. Wait for The Sound
8. Repeating Night
9. We Can't Be Found
10. Nothing Bloomed

Algiers 2020 Tour Dates:

Monday, February 3 The Haunt, Brighton UK
Wednesday, February 5 Village Underground, London UK
Thursday, February 6 YES, Manchester UK
Friday, February 7 Stereo, Glasgow UK
Saturday, February 8 Whelans, Dublin IE
Monday, February 10 Brudenell, Leeds UK
Wednesday, February 12 Botanique Rotonde, Brussels BE
Thursday, February 13 Paradiso Upstairs, Amsterdam NE
Friday, February 14 Club Volta, Cologne DE
Saturday, February 15 Manufaktur, Schorndorf DE
Monday, February 17 Zoom, Frankfurt DE
Tuesday, February 18 Beatpol, Dresden DE
Thursday, February 20 Hybrydy, Warsaw PO
Friday, February 21 Lucerna Music Bar, Prague CZ
Saturday, February 22 Flex, Vienna AU
Monday, February 24 Strom, Munich DE
Wednesday, February 26 Monk, Rome IT
Thursday, February 27 Ohibo, Milan IT
Saturday, February 29 La 3 Razzmatazz, Barcelona ES
Sunday, March 1 Cafe Berlin, Madrid ES
Tuesday, March 3 Rock School Barbey, Bordeaux FR
Wednesday, March 4 Stereolux, Nantes FR
Thursday, March 5 La Maroquinerie, Paris FR
Wednesday, March 11 Johnny Brenda's, Philadelphia PA
Thursday, March 12 Black Cat, Washington DC
Friday, March 13 Mothlight, Asheville NC
Saturday, March 14 529, Atlanta GA
Friday, March 20 Club Congress, Tucson AZ
Saturday, March 21 Casbah, San Diego CA
Tuesday, March 24 The Echo, Los Angeles CA
Wednesday, March 25 Slim's, San Francisco CA
Saturday, March 28 Polaris Hall, Portland OR
Sunday, March 29 The Crocodile, Seattle WA
Wednesday, April 1 Turf Club, St. Paul MN
Thursday, April 2 Cactus Club, Milwaukee WI
Friday, April 3 Empty Bottle, Chicago IL
Saturday, April 4 Rumba Club, Columbus OH
Sunday, April 5 Deluxx Fluxx, Detroit MI
Monday, April 6 The Baby G, Toronto ON
Tuesday, April 7 Bar Le Ritz, Montreal QC
Thursday, April 9 Saint Vitus, Brooklyn NY

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.