Black Mountain Announce New September North American Tour Dates | Under the Radar - Music Magazine

Black Mountain Announce New September North American Tour Dates

Destroyer Out Now via Jajaguwar

Jun 17, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Black Mountain released a new album, Destroyer, in May via Jagjaguwar. Now they have announced some new North American tour dates for this September. It's labeled the "Horns Arising Tour." Check out the dates below.

Previously Black Mountain shared Destroyer's first single, "Future Shade." Then they shared another song from it, the over six-minute long "Boogie Lover." Then they shared another song from the album, "Licensed to Drive," as well as a video for the song inspired by 1970s and 1980s video games (with perhaps a nod to Mad Max Fury Road as well).

Frontman Stephen McBean conceived the album in the wake of finally getting a driver's license for the first time two years ago. The album features longtime member Jeremy Schmidt, alongside new members Rachel Fannan (Sleepy Sun), and Adam Bulgasem (Dommengang & Soft Kill), as well as previous collaborators Kliph Scurlock (The Flaming Lips), Kid Millions (Oneida), and John Congleton (St. Vincent, Swans). 

A previous press release described the album this way: "Destroyer, named after the discontinued single-run 1985 Dodge Destroyer muscle car, is structured around the feeling of driving a hot rod. The album exists in the middle of the early-to-mid 80s Los Angeles war between punk and hair metal - it's exhilarating, spirited, and dangerous. Throughout, youthful themes run rampant: 'Boogie Lover' cruises down the Sunset Strip, 'Horns Arising' is a fill-up at a desert gas station just in time to see a UFO hovering near a mesa, and 'High Rise' rounds out a sense of teenage discovery."

The album is the band's fifth, the follow-up to 2016's IV.

Black Mountain Tour Dates:

Fri. July 26 - Denver, CO @ Underground Music Showcase
Sun. Aug. 11 - Bagnes, CH @ Palp Festival
Tue. Aug. 13 - Budapest, HU @ Ile Obudai / Hongrie
Fri. Aug. 16 - Las Vegas, NV @ Psycho Las Vegas
Sat. Aug. 17 - Las Vegas, NV @ Mandalay Bay Events Center
Thu. Sept. 12 - Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile w/ LA Witch
Fri. Sept. 13 - Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom w/ LA Witch
Sat. Sept. 14 - Vancouver, BC @ Westward Music Festival w/ Majeure, Dead Quiet
Sun. Sept. 15 - Victoria, BC @ Distrikt w/ Majeure
Tue. Sept. 17 - Edmonton, AB @ The Starlite w/ Majeure
Wed. Sept. 18 - Calgary, AB @ Commonwealth w/ Majeure
Thu. Sept. 19 - Saskatoon, SK @ Amigos w/ Majeure
Fri. Sept. 20 - Winnipeg, MN @ The Pyramid w/ Majeure
Sat. Sept. 21 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club w/ Dommengang, Majeure
Sun. Sept. 22 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon w/ Dommengang, Majeure
Tue. Sept. 24 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall w/ Dommengang, Majeure
Thu. Sept. 26 - Grand Rapids, MI @ The Pyramid Scheme w/ Dommengang, Majeure
Fri. Sept. 27 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups w/ Dommengang, Majeure
Fri. Nov. 8 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.