Goldfrapp Enlist Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan for New Version of “Ocean” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Thursday, February 25th, 2021  

Goldfrapp Enlist Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan for New Version of “Ocean”

Silver Eye: Deluxe Edition Due Out July 6 via Mute

May 21, 2018 Photography by Alison Goldfrapp
Bookmark and Share

Goldfrapp, the British duo of Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory, released a new album, Silver Eye, back in March 2017 via Mute. Now Goldfrapp have announced a deluxe edition of the album and shared one of its bonus tracks, a previously unreleased new version of the album's "Ocean" that is now a duet with Dave Gahan of Depeche Mode. Silver Eye: Deluxe Edition is due out July 6 via Mute. Check out the new version of "Ocean" below, followed by the deluxe edition's tracklist and cover art, as well as the band's upcoming tour dates.

The band issued this quick statement about the new track: "Working with Dave Gahan on the new version of 'Ocean' has been a real honor for us as a band. We're thrilled to finally share this collaboration with the world."

Silver Eye was the band's first album in four years, since 2013's Tales of Us. John Congleton and The Haxan Cloak both did production work on the album. Goldfrapp and Gregory spent 10 days at the Dallas studio of Congleton, who has also worked with St. Vincent and Wild Beasts, among others. Then The Haxan Cloak (aka Bobby Krlic, who has worked with Björk, among others) worked with the band in London. Leo Abrahams, who has worked with Brian Eno, provided "abstract guitar textures" and David Wrench (The xx, Caribou) mixed the album. Alison Goldfrapp photographed all of the album's artwork, including the press photos, herself on Fuerteventura, a volcanic island in the Canary Islands.

Read our 2017 interview with Goldrapp about Silver Eye.

Silver Eye: Deluxe Edition Tracklist 


1. Anymore

2. Systemagic

3. Tigerman

4. Become The One

5. Faux Suede Drifter
6. Zodiac Black
7. Beast That Never Was

8. Everything Is Never Enough

9. Moon In Your Mouth

10. Ocean

1. Ocean (feat. Dave Gahan) - Previously unreleased
2. Anymore (Will Gregory's Don't Stop Now Remix) - Previously unreleased
3. Everything Is Never Enough (Video Mix)
4. Anymore (Joe Goddard Remix)
5. Systemagic (Ralphi Rosario Lunar Eclipse Mix)
6. Anymore (Whatever/Whatever Remix by Justin Strauss & Bryan Mette)

7. Everything Is Never Enough (Chris Liebing Burn Slow Remix)
8. Anymore (Ralphi Rosario Remix)

Goldfrapp Tour Dates:

July 1 - Glasgow, Scotland - Fiesta x Fold Festival with Nile Rodgers + Friends
July 7 - London, England - BST Hyde Park with The Cure
July 13 - Brussels, Belgium - Cactus Festival
July 19 - Bromyard, England - Nozstcock Festival
July 20 - Topcliffe, England - Deer Shed Festival
July 26 - Bishops Stortford, England - Standon Calling Festival
July 27 - Solihull, England - Lunar Festival

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

June 9th 2018

The official video of the album is fantastic, so sweet and melodious. Thanks for informing readers the details of the tours so that they can enjoy the live shows.The resumes planet can also be used for the publicity of these shows .

lowes survey
September 3rd 2018

Immediately, after completing the survey, you will be rewarded for taking the time to complete the survey.