Mitski Shares Animated Video for “A Pearl” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Monday, October 14th, 2019  

Mitski Shares Animated Video for “A Pearl”

Be the Cowboy Out Now via Dead Oceans

Jan 31, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Mitski (full name Mitski Miyawaki) released a new album, Be the Cowboy, back in August 2018 via Dead Oceans. It was #2 on our Top 100 Albums of 2018 list. Now she has shared a video for the album's "A Pearl." The animated video is made up of 1,480 unique frames that were illustrated and painted and was produced in association with Spotify and Art Camp. Saad Moosajee and Art Camp directed the video, which was co-directed by Danae Gosset. The dream-like clip features a woman, as seen from behind, running and then falling. Watch it below (via Pitchfork), followed by Mitksi's upcoming tour dates. 

Previously Mitski shared a Zia Anger-directed video for Be the Cowboy's first single, "Geyser," which was our #2 Song of the Week, announced some tour dates, shared a strange video for "Nobody," and shared the audio for Be the Cowboy's closing track "Two Slow Dancers" (which was also one of our Songs of the Week). Be the Cowboy is the follow-up to 2016's acclaimed Puberty 2 and was produced with longtime collaborator Patrick Hyland.

Read our review of Be the Cowboy.

Read our review of Puberty 2

Mitski Tour Dates:

Sat. Feb. 2 - Brisbane, AU @ Laneway Festival
Sun. Feb. 3 - Sydney, AU @ Laneway Festival
Mon. Feb. 4 - Sydney, NSW @ Oxford Art Factory
Thu. Feb. 7 - Melbourne, VIC @ The Corner Hotel
Sat. Feb. 9 - Melbourne, AU @ Laneway Festival
Tue. Feb. 12 - Tokyo, JP @ Shibuya WWW X
Wed. Feb. 13 - Osaka, JP @ Umeda SHANGRI-LA
Fri. Feb. 15 - Seoul, KR @ Rolling Hall
Sat. Feb. 16 Taipei, TW @ The Wall
Mon. Feb. 18 - Kuala Lumpur, MY @ The Bee
Wed. Feb. 20 - Jakarta, ID @ Rossi Musik
Sat. Feb. 23 - Singapore, MY @ EBX Live Space
Fri. March 29 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small's Theatre *
Sat. March 30 - Columbus, OH @ The Athenaeum Theatre *
Sun. March  31 - Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall *
Tue. April 2 - Indianapolis, IN @ Deluxe at Old National Centre *
Wed. April 3 - Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre *
Fri. April 5 - Iowa City, IA @ Mission Creek Music Festival *
Sat. April 6 - Kansas City, MO @ Knuckleheads *
Sun. April 7 - St. Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall *
Tue. April 9 - Athens, GA @ 40 Watt Club *
Wed. April 10 - Tallahassee, FL @ The Moon *
Thu. April 11 - Orlando, FL @ The Plaza Live Theatre *
Sat. April 13 - Charleston, SC @ High Water Festival 
Sun. April 14 - Gainesville, FL @ 08 Seconds *
Tue. April 16 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat's Cradle *
Thu. April 18 - Richmond, VA @ The National *
Fri. April 19 - Baltimore, MA @ Rams Head Live! *
Sat. April 20 - Norths Adams, MA @ Hunter Center, MASS MoCA *
Thu. Aug. 8 - Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival

*  w/ Jay Som

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.