Premiere: Brooke Annibale " Glow" Video | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Friday, January 27th, 2023  

Brooke Annibale

Premiere: Brooke Annibale ” Glow” Video

May 30, 2018

Singer-songwriter/guitarist Brooke Annibale out of Pittsburgh is putting out her newest record Hold to The Light, her third full-length record following 2015’s The Simple Fear. Hold to The Light is a pop-progressive album that offers a fusion of textured electronic and traditional instrumentation and “Glow” stylishly represents this shift. Under the Radar has the premiere of the video.

“When I wrote this song, it was kind of just a sweet soft little acoustic song, but I knew I wanted it to have a lot of energy”, explains Annibale. “We initially recorded it with acoustic guitar at the forefront, but when I started playing it on electric we quickly shift gears to feature it instead. The acoustics are still there but they really just serve as another percussive element. The drums almost feel like a marching band but with distortion effects. It’s probably the “happiest” song I’ve ever released and it’s got some summer vibes for sure, so it feels really fun to release it this time of year…We were halfway through recording the song. My producer (Sam Kassirer) had been playing around with this pulsating synth/keys part that reminded me subtly of something…which I quickly realized was the intro to Robyn’s “Dancing On My Own” …After a dinner break, I asked him if he ever listened to it, and played it for him. It immediately, ironically inspired the rest of the song. Not the typical production reference for me, but I’ve always loved that song so it really worked. Obviously, the songs don’t end up sounding that similar, but that was certainly our inspiration for finishing the song.”

Produced by Sam Kassirer (Josh Ritter, Lake Street Dive) Hold to The Light features the contributions of seasoned artists Sam Kassirer on Keys; Zachariah Hickman (Josh Ritter, Ray Lamontagne) on Bass; Josh Kaufman (The National, Josh Ritter) on accompanying guitars; Sean Trischka on Drums; and Matt Douglas (Sylvan Esso, Mountain Goats) on Woodwinds.