Matt Sweeney and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy Announce New Album and Share Video for New Song | Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, July 14th, 2024  

Matt Sweeney and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy Announce New Album and Share Video for New Song

Superwolves Due Out April 30 on Drag City; Listen to "Hall of Death"

Feb 09, 2021 Matt Sweeney & Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy Photography by Jonah Freeman and Justin Lowe Bookmark and Share

Matt Sweeney and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy (aka Will Oldham) have announced a new album Superwolves, subsequently sharing the video for a new single from the album, “Hall of Death.” Superwolves will be out on April 30 via Drag City (the album will receive a physical release on June 18). Check out the Sai Selvarajan and Jeff Bednarz-directed “Hall of Death” video below, along with the tracklist and cover art for Superwolves. The album’s cover art was created by director Harmony Korine.

Both Oldham and Sweeney have talked about their collaboration in a press release, with Oldham stating: “The chemistry comes from lives, lived separately, in which music is crucial sustenance. We listen with gratitude and awe, knowing that we belong in there. We construct our dream selves with the faith that these selves will have their chance at life. We know what we are capable of doing and just need each other’s support to bring the imagined languages to life.”

Sweeney adds: “I love the challenge to write melodies for Will to sing. Struggle with that challenge too. Knowing that Will’s voice will elevate the melody makes me reach higher and dig deeper for the tune. Makes me want to match it with a guitar part that holds his voice like a chalice holds wine (or blood, or whatever is needed to live the best life). I also love singing harmonies and responses to this voice of his.”

Superwolves marks Oldham and Sweeney’s first album collaboration in 16 years; their previous album, Superwolf, came out in 2005 on Drag City. Oldham’s most recent solo album, I Made a Place, was released in 2019, also on Drag City.

Superwolves Tracklist:

1. Make Worry For Me
2. Good To My Girls
3. God Is Waiting
4. Hall of Death
5. Shorty’s Ark
6. I Am A Youth Inclined to Ramble
7. My Popsicle
8. Watch What Happens
9. Resist the Urge
10. There Must Be a Someone
11. My Blue Suit
12. My Body is My Own
13. You Can Regret What You Have Done
14. Not Fooling

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.