Richard Ashcroft (Formerly of The Verve) Announces New Solo Album and UK Tour Dates | Under the Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, March 28th, 2023  

Richard Ashcroft (Formerly of The Verve) Announces New Solo Album and UK Tour Dates

Natural Rebel Due Out October 19 via RPA and BMG

Aug 15, 2018 Richard Ashcroft
Bookmark and Share

Richard Ashcroft (formerly of The Verve) has announced a new solo album, Natural Rebel, and some UK tour dates. Natural Rebel is due out October 19 via Ashcroft’s own label, RPA, and BMG. No new music from the album has been shared yet, but below are the album’s tracklist and cover art, followed by the tour dates.

Ashcroft produced Natural Rebel alongside Jon Kelly (Paul McCartney, Kate Bush) and Emre Ramazanoglu (Bobby Gillespie, Jarvis Cocker). It was mainly recorded at State of the Ark Studios in Richmond, England, with further sessions at The Bunker, Tileyard Studios, and Hoxa HQ.

Ashcroft had this to say about the album in a press release: “With experience comes knowledge and for me this is my strongest set of songs to date. All my favorite sounds distilled into something that will hopefully give my fans lasting pleasure. It is for them. Music is power.”

The Verve’s first two albums, 1993’s A Storm in Heaven and 1995’s A Northern Soul, were critically acclaimed but weren’t huge chart hits. The band broke up in 1995, but reformed for 1997’s Urban Hymns, which hit #1 on the UK album charts thanks in part to the success of the iconic single “Bittersweet Symphony” (as well as the hits “The Drugs Don’t Work” and “Lucky Man”). The band split up again in 1999 before reforming in 2007 and releasing a fourth album in 2008, the fittingly named Forth. The Verve split up for the third and so far final time in 2008 and Ashcroft’s last solo album, These People, was released in 2016. Natural Rebel is his fifth solo album (sixth if you count 2010’s United Nations of Sound, credited to RPA & The United Nations of Sound).

Natural Rebel Tracklist:

1. “All My Dreams”
2. “Birds Fly”
3. “Surprised By the Joy”
4. “That’s How Strong”
5. “Born to be Strangers”
6. “That’s When I Feel It”
7. “We All Bleed”
8. “A Man in Motion”
9. “Streets of Amsterdam”
10. “Money Money”

Richard Ashcroft UK Tour Dates:

Friday October 26th - Glasgow Barrowlands
Sunday October 28th - Middlesborough Town Hall
Monday October 29th - Nottingham Rock City
Wednesday October 31st - Manchester Albert Hall
Friday November 2nd - Kentish Town Forum

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

rpa training in chennai
May 7th 2019

thanks for your valuable information