Along Comes The Association: Beyond Folk Rock and Three-Piece Suits | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Monday, June 21st, 2021  

Russ Giguere and Ashley Wren Collins

Along Comes The Association: Beyond Folk Rock and Three-Piece Suits

Published by Rare Bird Books

Mar 27, 2020 Bookmark and Share


As memoirs seem to increasingly dominate the music book landscape, it’s nice to see someone like Russ Giguere throw his hat into the ring. Founding member of the six- and sometimes seven-member ‘60s vocal group The Association, Giguere saw his band thrust into fame and fortune with complex multi-person harmony-filled hits such as “Along Comes Mary,” “Windy,” and über-ballads “Cherish” and “Never My Love.”

With co-writer Ashley Wren Collins, Giguere documents The Association’s history from its early-‘60s formation out of the 13-person folk group/chorus, The Men, and through the band’s dissolution, reformation, and time on the oldies circuit in the ‘80s, ‘90s, and beyond.

The first 70-some pages of Along Comes The Association reads as a bit of a hodgepodge. Giguere plots his story as one of The Association and not so much of himself specifically, so there is not a whole lot of childhood history here. After a brief first chapter, the tale begins a few years pre-Association, but it takes Giguere a little while to get his footing. Case in point: the amount of time devoted to the derivations of band members’ particular three-part nicknames.

However, once Giguere gets into the meat of his story-the birth of his band and its extensive career-things pick up. The text is augmented by newsprint articles, interviews, and reviews from the time, which flesh out the story with more of an as-it’s-happening historical perspective rather than looking back reverie.

It’s interesting to read Giguere fiercely defending his group’s position of prominence even as the popular music scene of the late ‘60s moved away from his band’s intricate pop styling and toward the more rock and roll heft of artists like The Who and Jimmy Hendrix. But revisiting The Association’s music even today proves him to be correct, at least in the sense that The Association was above style and fad in terms of musicianship and glorious harmony. The full story has been a long time coming.

(http://www.rare-bird-books.myshopify.com)

Author rating: 7.5/10

Rate this book
Average reader rating: 6/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Kennetharops
April 7th 2020
12:20am

<a >наркологическая клиника</a>

Alexdom
April 15th 2020
9:04pm

<a >Beginners guide to Binance</a>

vitinnromain
April 18th 2020
4:35am

Силикон в промышленности и быту <a >silicon.matrixboard.ru</a>. <a >Купить жидкий Силикон</a> в пятилитровых канистрах.

Hakersha
April 23rd 2020
11:08pm

Хакерша Юля - спец по созданию и рекламе сайтов. Не обращайся ко мне. Ни к чему тебе это. Мое личное видео здесь:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VaFbXxjgLDY&feature=emb_logo

Williamruirl
May 3rd 2020
4:47am

Korea today   <a >North KoreaKorea news</a>

DramXrenWop
May 6th 2020
9:57am

seungri   <a >wonhochannel news asia</a>

vinsaTency
May 9th 2020
5:38am

<a >люки герметичные напольные</a> или <a >алюминиевые люки под плитку</a>

https://www.lukland.ru/catalog/hatches/floorhatches/hago/zapolnyaemie

Jamesgausa
May 9th 2020
7:15am

I am 64 years old generally in Good health,Gymming daily for 40 mins. I am type 2 Diabetic,maintain a good diet etc. Since last year I am totally impotent and now Viagra also does not help much. I have been advised by one Doctor to use Testosterone Gel and HGH injection. The other doctor told me to go in for Testosterone injection . I am a bit confused and scared to try these options.
So I would like the opinions of Good samaritans who have practical experience with any of the above treatment? Does someone try
<a >Buffalo Grove HGH Therapy</a>? Secondly what precautions and side effects I can expect from this line of action.
Please serious advisors will be appreciated .
Trollers are also welcome

Thomasspami
May 17th 2020
2:29am

Korea
https://www.datanumen.com/outlook-repair/ -  Mongolia China

JamesSlera
May 19th 2020
3:24am

hydraruzxpnew4af.onion - Официальный лавка моментальных покупок в даркнете, онион ссылка на сайт гидра, Для площядке Соперничество!
Приятного пользования дарк нетом, дарю <a >гидра ссылка на сайт</a> аноноимных покупок.Существует донельзя удобная <a >гидра сайт зеркало</a> ссылка для обхода блокировки.
Hydra - Гидра официальная доказательство, это безопасно без tor браузера. Воспользуйтесь hydraruzxpnew4af.onion сайтом.

BarbaraJenue
June 3rd 2020
11:31am

Белорусский трикотаж Свитмода|Молодежная женская одежда Свитмода|Одежда женская больших размеров Свитмода Бай|

Jameschesy
June 13th 2020
10:22pm

Mumbai alone now accounts for 25,500 COVID-19 cases including 882 deaths. Mumbai: Maharashtra registered as many as 2,345 new ...Mumbai is the capital city of the Indian state of Maharashtra. According to United Nations, as of 2018, Mumbai was the second most populous city in India after

<a > Mhatma </a>

MichaelVig
June 16th 2020
9:18am

Ghaziabad is a city in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh and a part of the National Capital Region of Delhi. It is the administrative headquarters of Ghaziabad district and is the largest city in western Uttar Pradesh, with a population of 1,729,000.

<a > Ghaziabad </a>

zigzagca
June 19th 2020
3:27am

ZigZag.WiKi

Это уникальный каталог с поиском по Telegram группам, чатам и телеграм каналам.

В каталоге вы всегда сможете найти нужную вам группу, канал, чат в телеграм, найти нужное сообщение из телеграм группы, чата или телеграм канала.

Не нашли в поиске что искали? мы с радостью примем от вас ссылку на канал, чат или группу для включения их в поиск и каталог.

Если вы админ телеграм канала, телеграм группы, чата или вы магазин и у вас есть группа, чат в телеграм или канал вам к нам.

Магазинам мы предлагаем отдельный раздел в каталоге, отдельную страницу с витриной!

Регистрируй свой магазин, телеграм группу, чат или телеграм канал и зарабатывай!

Более подробную информацию вы с можете узнать на сайте https://zigzag.wiki

JamesJom
July 5th 2020
2:58am

seungri   <a >trump chinanorth korea</a>

<a >kim jong un</a>

HenryQuomo
July 11th 2020
2:58pm

Lucknow, a large city in northern India, is the capital of the state of Uttar Pradesh. Toward its center is Rumi Darwaza, a Mughal gateway. Nearby, the 18th-century Bara Imambara shrine has a huge arched hall. Upstairs, Bhool Bhulaiya is a maze of narrow tunnels with city views from its upper balconies. Close by, the grand Victorian Husainabad Clock Tower was built as a victory column in 1881.

<a > Lucknow </a>